THE THING I LIKE ABOUT EASTER…. (singular)

I’m not big on chocolate these days, probably because I no longer have a magnesium deficiency.  So it’s not the chocolate shaped bunnies or eggs that do it for me.

It’s the fact that I get two extra days off from work – that’s what I like about Easter.

One other thing that truly amazes me about Easter is the fact that the world’s churches squeeze Christ’s death, burial and resurrection into a long weekend.  Scripture says that He spent 3 days and 3 nights in the belly of the earth :

Friday – one night

Saturday – one night and one day

Sunday – one night and one day

= 3 nights and 2 days since He rose again on Monday – which doesn’t count as a day in the heart of the earth.

Matthew 12:40 ~ For as Jonas was three days and three nights in the whale’s belly; so shall the Son of man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.

I don’t see any scripture relating to bunnies or eggs in relation to Christ’s crucifixion either for that matter.

And I don’t need an Roman Catholic (pagan) invention to remind me to celebrate honour the death, burial and resurrection of the Lord Jesus Christ once a year.  I do so everyday.  It’s the gospel whereby my soul has been saved.  I live it, eat it and drink it each and everyday of my life.

If it weren’t for God being in Christ on Calvary’s cross, I would have no hope  and would be without God in this world.

Leave a Reply

