Now where did I hear that before? Part 2

“It is a faithful saying: For if we be dead with him, we shall also live with him: If we suffer, we shall also reign with him: if we deny him, he also will deny us: If we believe not, yet he abideth faithful: he cannot deny himself.” – The Apostle Paul, 2 Timothy 2:11-13

 

 

Doctrine, schmoktrine:

“Young men likewise exhort to be sober minded. In all things shewing thyself a pattern of good works: in doctrine showing uncorruptness, gravity, sincerity, Sound speech, that cannot be condemned; that he that is of the contrary part may be ashamed…..” – The Apostle Paul, Titus 2:7-8.

The irony of it all.

A pattern of good works ((((COLON)))) in DOCTRINE showing uncorruptness, gravity, sincerity, sound speech, that cannot be condemned…..

Good works equate to sound doctrine, i.e., showing uncorruptness.  Do you think Matt Stutzman is showing uncorruptness by replacing a colon with a full stop?

And these are the people who BLATANTLY push punctuation aside, saying it’s got absolutely NOTHING to do with how scripture is interpreted.   I wonder why that is?  Perhaps to drive their unsound point/s home disguised as sound doctrine because it’s adorned/cloaked in good works?  That’s subtility.

“For unto you it is given in the behalf of Christ, not only to believe on him, but also to suffer for his sake;” – The Apostle Paul,  Philippians 1:29

It is given in the behalf of Christ.    Preach the unadultered gospel of 1 Corinthians 15:1-4 and see where it gets you.  You are told you believe in “cheap grace”, “that Corinthians 15:1-4 isn’t the gospel”, “that you need to repent of your sin”, “that you have a license to sin”.  Many simply cannot handle the simplicity of 1 Corinthians 15:1-4.

Reality :  Christ made it simple, easy for people to be saved.  It’s called having sole reliance in Him, His finished work on Calvary’s cross and His resurrection.  What He did for me.

WHAT HE DID for me.  He died for my sins  – He took all my sins on Himself, and they were replaced with His righteousness, He was buried – only dead people are buried, to be buried, there must be a corpse, He rose again on the third day – since He rose again, I am justified because I believe He rose from the dead.  Resurrection – rising from the dead means you died and were buried, it confirms Christ’s resurrection.

I trust in His finished work on Calvary’s cross and His resurrection on the third day for my salvation – Christ crucified.  I accept He took my place, that He was the propitiation for my sins, knowing that there wasn’t/isn’t anything I can do to save myself.  I rely/trust in Him,  i.e., His finished work on the Cross and His resurrection from the dead.  I realise that talking to Him about saving me, praying to Him to save me, and doing good works to try and assist Him in saving me is totally pointless because that would mean I do not believe what the Apostle Paul said in 1 Corinthians 15:1-4.

The first time I heard the gospel, I was like, “Wow!!!”  I read the epistle of the Romans before I was saved and realised that people are saved by grace alone through faith alone, but I didn’t know what saved me through grace alone through faith alone, because when I came to the epistle of James, I was confused because to me it had turned into, “Faith without works was dead”.

I remember reading 1 Corinthians 15:1-4 several times because I found it to be really beautiful.  And my thoughts were, “so this is the good news, so simple, so uncomplicated, why had I never encountered this truth before?  Why wasn’t it ever preached?  Why was I always led to believe that if I messed up, I could lose my salvation”  I believed the gospel wholeheartedly.  There wasn’t a smidgen of doubt in my mind.  Unlike many out there, I cannot remember the date/day I was saved.  I was too enamoured with the truth.  It was like I had discovered an entire treasure chest of gold, and I wallowed in it.  I wallowed in God’s grace.

I was living and working in Botswana at the time, a country that is 98% desert, otherwise known as “rural Africa”.   I was living alone and didn’t mingle with the “in crowd” or “clique”.   I was set on coming to the knowledge of the truth.  In hindsight, I think it must’ve looked as if I was living in a world of my own.

I was saved in “reverse gear”, if I may put it that way.   I knew the certain sections of the Bible contradicted other sections of the Bible, but I didn’t have a clue as to why it was so.

Then I realised that the pre-tribulation rapture was truth, after many months of hopping to and fro between a pre-trib and post rrib rapture.  I gloried in God’s mercy at this time – that He would actually remove saved people from this world, and not have to live through His wrath.   That showed His love and mercy.  To me that was totally AWESOME.

Then I happened upon the glorious gospel of Christ.

Once one realises the enormity of God’s grace – that it’s not due to anything you’ve done, it’s an awesome thought.  “You did that for ME?  Someone who doesn’t deserve it”.

Sanctified

Reconciled

Justified

SAVED for eternity

Wasn’t it the Apostle Paul who told the Corinthians :

Know ye not that we shall judge angels? how much more things that pertain to this life?

If then ye have judgments of things pertaining to this life, set them to judge who are least esteemed in the church.

I speak to your shame. Is it so, that there is not a wise man among you? no, not one that shall be able to judge between his brethren?  1 Corinthians 6:3-5.

The modern day Grace Movement explicitly ignores this fact.

I do not want to be part of the Denominational Mid-Acts Right Division Movement which rips scripture out of context in order to build a theory, deny the saving power of 1 Corinthians 15:1-4, who think they can work themselves into an elevated status by doing what appears to be good works, when in reality they proof-text and rip scripture totally out of context.

I know I am very vocal when it comes to this, but it’s important.  Our calling as members of the body of Christ is to preach the gospel and get people saved.

I met with my ex (husband) today, and he quoted the 10 commandments that one has to adhere to, if you don’t, the “sins of the fathers will be visited upon the children”.   When in fact the Apostle Paul emphatically states we are currently not under the law.  Why do people blatantly ignore the Apostle Paul?

2 Timothy 2:7-9 :

Consider what I say; and the Lord give thee understanding in all things.

Remember that Jesus Christ of the seed of David was raised from the dead according to my gospel:

Wherein I suffer trouble, as an evil doer, even unto bonds; but the word of God is not bound.

My personal thoughts are that the devil’s ministers of righteousness has so much influence, and the fact that they are such “good people”, how can one condemn what they preach FROM THE PULPITS every Sunday?   This influences people, it has power.  The fact that one is told that they need to repent of their sin in order to be saved, instils a certain amount of fear into a person, so you automatically fall in line.

So who are you trusting then?  Your own “good works”, or Christ’s finished work on the cross and His resurrection?

 

Leave a Reply

